Hello folks!

The intent of this forum is to discuss my DOS TSR programs (available at http://bretjohnson.us), how they work and don't work, new/missing features, status of updates, and anything else related to them that may need to be discussed.

Hello folks!

Postby LW1DSE » Wed Sep 13, 2023 3:44 am

Hello everyone here, from Buenos Aires Argentina.

This's my first post here.

I'm interested to learn a bit about USB and DOS. I have 4 pc's AMD486 running DOS7.10 from several years ago. All them are "network-ized" between them in a LAN using coax cable, UMC9008 boards and SB16. One of them has a USB port with the 82C861 IC with 2 ports and the USBASPI and DDI1000 drivers, running marvelous from a decade ago. Now I want to use a VIA VT6212L with 4 ports and your drivers.
I am not a programmer. So I need a small guidelines to start using the VIA card with 3 or 4 pendrives, and no other thing.

Many thanks in advance.

(I am not natural English speaker, but Spanish. I learned English when young, but I send all you my apologies if my English isn't too good)
LW1DSE

Location: Barrio Garay, Almirante Brown, provincia Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Re: Hello folks!

Postby Bret » Wed Sep 13, 2023 11:22 am

The VIA card you indicate should work with my drivers, but you have to try it and see. However, my current drivers only work with the USB 1 hardware so it will be slow.

If the computer you're using has a BIOS that supports USB disks, I would recommend trying that first instead of using my drivers. My drivers are generally used when the BIOS doesn't do the job. This is usually because you have a device that the BIOS doesn't support (for example, some BIOS's will support USB mice and/or keyboard but not USB disks, and no BIOS I know of supports USB joysticks).

If your BIOS lets you enable USB, do that first and see what happens.
Bret

Postby LW1DSE » Wed Sep 13, 2023 10:53 pm